The Trustees

There are three Trustees on the Council. They are recognized as guardians of the Council and are accountable for the organisation. These are persons familiar with the objectives of the council.

The PGRSC is a non-profit organisation duly established under the processes within the Charitable Trust Act [Cap 67] of the Republic of Fiji. There shall be no less than of 3 to no more than 5 trustees appointed by the organisation.
Any change of name or address of a Trustee shall be sent to the office of the Registrar by the board filing a notice under the seal intimating the change.

The Trustees shall be elected by the PGRSC Board.

The status of Trustee can be terminated by the Trustee through informing the PGRSC Board or be decision of the Board.
All properties, whether real or personal upon incorporation will be vested in the trustees.
The Trustees will be subject to the trust, power, contracts and equities of the properties.
The Trustees will respect the decisions of the PGRSC Board, however, they can call a meeting on highest level and can advise the Board.

Malakai Finau

Mr. Finau is the Permanent Secretary for the Ministry Lands and Mineral Resources, Fiji. He is also the Chair of the STAR conference and Chair of FGIMC, and therefore serves as a link to both Pacific decision making bodies. Mr. Finau was the former Director of the Fiji Mineral Resources Department, an organisation that has over the years, worked closely with the GIS and RS conference and community.

Dr. Russell Howorth

Dr. Howorth has worked for many years at SOPAC (now Geoscience, Energy and Maritime Division of SPC) and from 2002 to 2005 served as the Deputy Director. He was recalled at the end of his term to server as the Director in 2010 for SOPAC. Dr. Howorth is still the Director of the Circum-Pacific Council and a trustee of STAR.

Rajendra Singh

Mr. Singh comes with extensive experience in Education and Training. He served the Ministry of Education at various level up to Director of Primary Education Fiji. He has also worked with FNU and USP and served voluntary organisations at leadership level. He is an author and publisher and has contributed greatly to education and the community at large. Mr. Singh is a Commissioner for Oaths and has received a member of the Order of Fiji Award.

Arthur V. Faerua

Arthur V. Faerua is a ni-Vanuatu national and currently holds the position as Director General of the Ministry of Lands & Natural Resources in the Vanuatu Government. In 2019 and 2020, he spearheaded the process of developing and launching the first ever Vanuatu National Geospatial Data Policy 2020 – 2030. He comes from a legal background having served as a lawyer in the Vanuatu Government and also taught as a Law Lecturer at the School of Law, Emalus Campus, USP. He also is facilitating the work of the Vanuatu GIS/RS Users Group constantly.